breakfast apple granola crisp

Today, after tossing and turning for an hour, I woke up to a beautiful and chilly Sunday morning. I decided to take advantage of the cold weather and heat up the house with some baking.

Since returning home from the holidays I haven’t had a chance to stop and buy groceries in over a week. My last run to the grocery store consisted of bananas, apples and a $2.99 merlot…essentials. So to say the least, making breakfast without milk, cereal, eggs or bread was looking seemingly difficult.

Since I knew I wanted to bake and the only fresh item I had was apples, I did  a quick search for a breakfast apple bake and stumbled upon this great recipe for a Breakfast Apple Granola Crisp. The recipe called for 3lbs of apples and unfortunately I only had 3; two gala and one red delicious.  After cutting my ingredients in half and adding some slight improvisations I successfully baked a warm and crisp, slightly sweet, slightly tart baked apple granola crisp. A nice addition to this recipe would be a handful of raisins or cranberries.

Here is the original recipe:

3 pounds of apples, peeled, cored and cut into medium chunks
2 tablespoons lemon juice
3 tablespoons sugar**
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Salt
1 stick (8 tablespoons or 4 ounces) unsalted butter
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup flour
2 cups oats
1/2 cup sliced almonds
1/2 shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 400°F. Mix apple chunks with lemon juice, sugar, cornstarch, cinnamon and pinch of salt in a 9×13-inch baking dish until apples are evenly coated. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter with the honey. Stir in the flour, oats, almonds, coconut and another pinch of salt until clumps form. Sprinkle evenly over the apple mixture and bake in the oven for about 45 to 55 minutes, or until the apples are softened and bubbly.

This is very important: Cover the pan loosely with aluminum foil to avoid the granola from burning. Remove the foil during the last 5 minutes of baking to crisp the granola.

**For my recipe I substituted brown sugar for granulated sugar, I  am a fan of more tart apple flavor.

One thought on “breakfast apple granola crisp

Leave a Reply

