food truckin for stephen box

Who is Stephen Box you may ask and what does he have to do with foodtrucks? Well, Stephen Box is currently running for LA City Council District Number 4 Member and today he took the liberty to create a delicious fusion of food trucks and politics! Running on grassroots and an effort to bring new blood to the council, Stephen rounded up a couple of Los Angeles local food trucks near the NoHo Art Institute campus to entice young people’s involvement in politics.

But why did I go? Since I am not even a resident of California (yet), I went for the promise of great food! Some of the trucks said to be present included “Bool BBQ” known for its asian fusion and the gourmet sliders of “Me So Hungry”. After reviewing menus of these trucks, I was set on an infamous korean pork taco from “Bool” and a KTM slider from “Me So Hungry” with Marinated Short Ribs, Pepper Jack Cheese, Crispy Onions and Spicy Crème Fraîche. Sadly, when I arrived around 1pm, neither of these trucks were at the rally!

Instead of turning home, I decided to take a leap of faith with the “Papas Tapas” and “Gourmet Genie” trucks followed by the “Sweet E’s” mini cupcake truck for desert.

Round One, “Papas Tapas” for some infamous pork and tri-tip tacos, unfortunately no tri-tip was available so we settled on 2 pork tacos for $6.00. After a short wait I was pleasantly surprised by a dainty taco with fresh pulled pork (claimed to be marinated for 6 hours) covered with bright and colorful fresh peppers and mango in a sweet and spicy aioli sauce. It was delicious, savory and sweet. The pork was juicy and tender with the perfect amount of aioli sauce. It was a little messy and I spilled some of my mango on the ground. But if I wasn’t sharing my food I would have happily ate both of them!

Round 2, “Gourmet Genie” a sensation of middle eastern cuisine, from gourmet tacos to traditional pitas. I chose the homemade hummus with fresh olive oil and cilantro and a side of pita bread for $3.00; more than enough for 2 people. The hummus was fresh and creamy with a mild flavor and the pickles it came with were good too, although I’m not sure if they were homemade or not. For the main course there was the Falafel Pita; Chickpea Patties with “MAGIC SPICES”, Tomatoes, Italian Parsley, Fresh Mint, Tahini Sauce, Shredded Lettuce & Kosher Pickles. I love falafel, but not so much in a pita. The upside was the enormous size of the pita, definitely worth $6.00 and the obviously fresh ingredients. Next time, I will order falafel as a side along with a pita or taco with spicy lamb.

The final round was sweet with a stop at the “Sweet E’s” mini cupcake truck, featured on TLC’s Cupcake Wars! So many treats and not enough dollars to try them all. The window was full of cupcakes, whoopie pies, chocolate pretzels and chocolate covered oreos. With only 2 of these cupcakes left I had to try them, mini white chocolate champagne cupcakes with strawberry frosting for $2.00. Stephen sprang for the $1.50 white chocolate covered pretzel. You can never go wrong with chocolate and pretzels, the perfect combination of salty and sweet. The cupcake was good, but the cake itself was a too dry. I do have to take into consideration that they were baked in the morning and had been sitting on a foodtruck since 11am. But the frosting was A-M-A-Zing! It was smooth and light and tasted like biting into a fresh strawberry, it was even decorated with edible glitter.

All in all, my first food truck event was a small success. I am still on the hunt for the savory Korean pork tacos from “Bool BBQ” and the gourmet sliders of “Me So Hungry”.

2 thoughts on “food truckin for stephen box

  1. Great blog Laura. You do a fine job of describing the food. And even considering I am eating my nightly popcorn, you have managed to make me hungry for something much more gourmet!

Leave a Reply

