day: 1

Sunday was a pretty successful day, I survived the first day of the Paleo diet, no carbs, milk, sweets or legumes AND Osama Bin Laden was confirmed killed! Go USA and thank you to all our troops who helped bring closure to thousands of lives. Thank you for all your relentless hard-work and dedication.

So, before the late night announcement of Bin Laden’s defeat, I spent my morning as a paelo-newbie, very skeptical of all the new recipes that I had researched. On top of being worried that my recipes would be bland, I was worried that I wouldn’t feel satisfied after eating, that I would still crave the sugar and sweets that I did before. Its one thing to research a diet, but it’s another to commit to it. I don’t believe it’s possible to commit to any diet that is less than tasty. Believe me, I have tried. I have eaten loads of broccoli and yogurt with hopes of shedding pounds and devoured weight loss shakes and protein bars all with no results except for the same gritty aftertaste of processed food and doubt in my mouth.

The great thing about the Paleo/Whole 9 diet is that there is real food involved! Lots of healthy and fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats to choose from. So far, including the meals I have made on Monday, I have created 5 wonderful dishes. I will review the 3 that I made on Sunday and hopefully I will be able to update everyday with photos and recipes.

Here we go: (If you want to skip my story and just see the recipe, look below this paragraph)

Breakfast, the seemingly most important meal of the day. Sunday morning started off with a dish that I was most skeptical about. Sweet potato, bacon and egg hash. I have cooked plenty of yams before but never have I used the white sweet potato that I was cooking with. I was weary about the taste of the bacon mixed with the sweetness of the sweet potato and all I could image the sweet potato tasting like was Thanksgiving; loaded with marshmallows and brown sugar.  I boiled 4 eggs, cooked the bacon until crispy, and simultaneously chopped the sweet potato into diced chunks and set them to boil for 5 minutes. After everything was finished cooking I chopped the eggs and crumbled the bacon and mixed it all together with the sweet potatoes. The dish was interesting looking. Chunks of white eggs, off white sweet potato and reddish-brown bacon bits tossed together in a bowl looked like a mess someone had dropped onto the floor and hastily swept up into a bowl. But there was no turning back now. We are on a strict budget and only have enough food to cover all the recipes for the week, so down the hatch the hash went.

To my surprise it was rather good. The oily, crunchy and salty bacon was a great contrast to the soft eggs and mildly sweet potato. Either it was really good, or I was just really hungry, either way, it was all gone before I could even take a photo it.

Sweet potato, bacon and egg hash
1 large Sweet Potato
4 egg
4 pan friend slice Bacon
4 tbsp Dill
2 tbsp Lemon Juice

1. Boil eggs in water until cooked. Peel and dice.
2. Boil sweet potato for 5-8 minutes (until soft, but retaining diced shape)
3. Heat over skillet medium-high. Add olive oil and bacon and cook until slightly crunchy.
4. In a small bowl, mix dill, and lemon juice.
5. Place eggs, sweet potato, bacon into a medium size serving bowl and combine well.

Photo time: Lunch: Chicken Fajita Salad

For lunch I made a simple and visually friendly chicken fajita salad. Steaming hot chicken and sautéed onions on top of crisp romaine lettuce, topped with fresh salsa, perfect dish for 80 degree weather!

Chicken Fajita Salad
1 Tbsp olive oil
3/4 cup sliced onions
8oz skinless chicken breast
1/2 tsp cumin
2 tsp oregano
1 cup chopped bell peppers
romaine lettuce
1-2 tomatoes ( I used salsa instead)
1 avocado

  1. Add olive oil to a skillet. Heat over medium.
  2. Add sliced onions, saute until softening.
  3. Cut into strips and add the chicken.
  4. Add the cumin and oregano, saute, tossing often.
  5. Add the bell peppers when the chicken has browned.
  6. Wash and shred the lettuce. (optional)
  7. Add the tomatoes, toss.
  8. Serve the salad on two plates, top with the chicken fajita mix.
  9. Add the sliced avocado.

The final and favorite meal of the day was Vegetable Turkey Meatballs followed with by a refreshing Mango Sorbet

I have never heard of a meatball without flour or eggs, but this meatball wasn’t lacking. It was moist and held its shape perfectly and topped with chunky spaghetti sauce was a filling meal.

Turkey Vegetable Meatballs
1 lb ground turkey or chicken
2 medium carrots (or a handful of baby carrots)
1 red or green bell pepper
handful of fresh parsley
4 green onions
2 tsp granulated garlic (garlic salt)
2 Tbs Italian seasoning
Black pepper
dash of sea salt

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine bell pepper, mushrooms, carrots, green onions and seasonings (add generous portions to keep the meatballs from turning out bland) in a food processor and blend until well chopped.
  3. With the ground turkey in a large bowl, mix in the chopped veggies.
  4. Form meatballs on a non-greased baking sheet and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes (test to be sure they are fully cooked through)


Before making the meatballs, I wanted to make dessert. I diced one mango and added 2 tbs of coconut milk along with 1/2 cup of water to the food processor to make a smooth and creamy sorbet. After blending throughly I placed the mango into the freezer for 1 hours to harden. When we were finished with dinner I put the sorbet back into the food processor and blended until smooth and creamy again. The only downside to this dessert is that there wasn’t more of it!

2 thoughts on “day: 1

  1. Wow, Laura, what a cooking bee you are! Your recipes sound wonderful and your pictures are so artful. I enjoy your site.

Leave a Reply

