day:2

Can I keep this up? I hope so! Not to brag, but my cooking is getting better by the day. I know it’s only day two, but if this trend continues I may have to open my own Paleo Diner.

Onto the good stuff. For breakfast I made a Sausage Scramble. I know the calendar says Sausage Stir Fry, but I honestly forgot to buy spinach at the grocery, so I had to improvise. Here is the recipe, the way it should be made, just minus the greens and you’ll have my breakfast.

Sausage Stir Fry

1-2 tsp olive oil
1/2 c. diced onion
1/2 lb sausages
4 eggs
1 tbsp coconut milk
4 cups of spinach or other greens, sliced

  1. Add olive oil to a skillet.
  2. Heat over medium.
  3. Toss in diced onions, saute until softening.
  4. Add the sausage, cook until browned, tossing frequently.
  5. Add the greens, reduce the heat to medium-low and cover.
  6. Serve when the greens are wilted and soft.
  7. In a separate pan, whisk together eggs and coconut milk, stir until fully cooked
  8. Serve sausage atop scrambled eggs
Onto Lunch, a delicious and quick lunch (which seems to be the trend).
Tuna Salad Lettuce Wraps

2 cans of tuna, in oil or water
4-6 large lettuce leaves
1/3 cup sliced almonds
2 green onions
2 tbsp crushed red pepper
1 tbsp coconut milk
1/4 tsp mustard
1 tbsp dill pickle juice
1 finely chopped dill pickle

1. combine ingredients and place inside lettuce wraps

What did I tell you, I don’t think those directions could have been any easier. This is probably the best tuna I have ever had. I have never been a fan of mayonnaise and only used it for tuna because I didn’t know any other options. But this was great. I could have eaten all of it on my own.

Grilled Pork Medallion with Roasted Cabbage Slaw

1 small head of green cabbage
1 large red onion
1lb bag of baby carrots
1lb thin sliced boneless pork chops
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
3 tbsp olive oil
3/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1.  Heat oven to 450 degrees F. Coat two baking sheets with nonstick cooking spray.
2. Place cabbage on one prepared baking sheet, and onion and carrots on the second baking sheet. Brush with olive oil and season with ½ teaspoon of the salt and ⅛ teaspoon of the pepper. Roast vegetables at 450 degrees F for 20 minutes; rotate pans and roast for an additional 15 minutes. Drizzle with vinegar during last minute of cooking.
3. Meanwhile, heat a grill pan over medium-high heat. Season the pork with the remaining ¼ teaspoon salt and ⅛ teaspoon pepper and grill for 2 minutes per side or until cooked through
This dish smelled amazing within the first 15 minutes in the oven. I did have a slight problem with the cabbage burning on the edges, so I turned the oven down to 400 and it was fine. Do not forget to add the vinegar, I added it within the last two minutes. The acidity of the apple cider vinegar mixed with the onions, carrots and crunchy cabbage is amazing. I actually just snuck a taste of it, the pork is still cooking.
Time for Dinner!
2 thoughts on “day:2

  1. Pingback: orange dishes « kookingbee

Leave a Reply

