cookies on a diet?

Having a sweet tooth is in my genes. My mom loves to bake, my aunts love to bake, my grandmother loves to bake. Every holiday we have pies, cakes and cookies. Food is a family tradition as much as the holiday itself.

Being on this whole9 diet, its been hard for me to satisfy my sweet tooth, but I have resisted. I resisted free samples inside grocery stores as well as sample cups at Yogurtland. (I love Yogurtland, so this is a big deal) But I was fed up with eating fruits for dessert especially when I just wanted a cookie.

As well as exploring the whole9/paleo diet, I also have an interest in eating RAW. RAW eating is essentially not eating foods that are cooked and sticking to only natural non-processed ingredients. I was super excited when I came across a chef named Ani Phyo. Phyo has entire cookbooks dedicated to eating RAW as well as a dessert cookbook that I purchased on Amazon for super cheap.

Her book is: Ani’s Raw Food Desserts, 85 Easy, Delectable Sweets and Treats

There is a slight downside to her book, many of the ingredients are very hard to find. I went to 3 stores including Wholefoods looking for an ingredient called “Carob” with no avail. But the recipes are quick and easy and your best friend will be a food processor.

Pecan Pie Cookies
1 cup pecans
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp orange oil or orange juice
1 cup pitted Medjool dates

Directions:
1. Combine pecans, cinnamon, orange oil and dates into a food processor. Blend into small chunks.
2. Scoop dough into 1 tbps into a cooking tray lined with parchment paper.
3. Flatten cookies. Store in fridge for up to one week.

Laura’s Cocoa Walnut Cookies

Laura’s Cocoa Walnut Cookies
1 cup raisins
3/4 cup raw walnuts
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/8 tsp salt
zest from one orange

Below is the Original Recipe from Ani Phyos Cookbook, like I said, I couldn’t find carob power, so I substituted

Carob Walnut Cookies
1 cup raisins
3/4 cup raw walnuts
1/4 cup carob powder
1 tsp mesquite powder (optional)
1/8 tsp salt

Directions (For both Recipes):
1. Combine the raisins, walnuts, cocoa powder and salt into a food processor. Combine until dough begins to stick together.
2. Roll dough into 1/2 inch flat sheet
3. Place dough in the freezer for 20-30 minutes
4. Use a cookie cutter to cut out shapes. Grate orange zest on top of cookies
5. Place back in the freezer to harden then transfer to the fridge for storage

One thought on “cookies on a diet?

Leave a Reply

