egg and bacon hash

Sometimes it honestly amazes me how long it can take to re-organize my room. I was completely excited about my brand new *free* dresser, but I forgot how horrible unfolding and re-folding clothes was. I also forgot how whenever I “clean” my closet I like to try everything on, especially heels and dresses. I’m giving myself to 8pm to finish cleaning….2 hours and 15 minutes left, minus the 15 minutes it will take me to write this blog! Here I go…

Every time I discover a new and exciting way to incorporate eggs into my breakfast I am even more excited to post a unique egg photo into my blog. Here is one of the best egg breakfasts I have made! I actually majorly failed in making this dish a few weeks ago. But this time, I bought some kale, and took my time in following all the directions. It takes a little bit of prep time, but is worth it! I would love to eat this every other day!

Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash

Sweet Potato Hash

Ingredients:
8 strips of bacon, preferably nitrate free
1 onion chopped
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 large bell pepper, chopped
1 pound of sweet potato, cut into ½ inch cubes
1 bunch of kale chopped
1 teaspoon of dried thyme, rosemary or oregano (I only used oregano)
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cut the bacon into bite sized pieces and fry until crisp. Remove and place on paper towel to dry.
  2. In the yummy bacon grease, fry over medium heat the onion and garlic for a minute till fragrant. (I chose to throw away the bacon grease and cook the onion and following ingredients in 1 tbsp of olive oil. I highly recommend this, if you do not want your vegetables dripping in fat!!!)Then toss in the bell pepper and the sweet potato and continue to fry, covered stirring here and there, till the potatoes are done, about 10-15 minutes.
  3. Add the kale at the last few minutes and cook till just done. Sprinkle with herbs and salt and pepper and serve hot and yummy!
  4. Baste or fry an egg or two and lay on top of a hash mountain.
One thought on “egg and bacon hash

Leave a Reply

