potaytoe potahtoe salad

Congrats to me for the success of my first attempt at potato salad. Potato salad and me aren’t friends, I have never liked cold potato or pasta salads and the thought of either of those foods floating in mayonnaise is enough to make me cringe. But since it was 4th of July I was feeling festive and determined to create a potato salad that I would actually enjoy, if only for a few bites.

I found “The World’s Best Potato Salad” courtesy of Allrecipes. As always, I added a few modifications. I created a much smaller portion by using only 3 potatoes and cutting everything else in half as accurately as possible. I also cut down the sugar by 6 tbsp. I can’t imagine how sweet it would be with 1/4 cup!! One thing I despise about potato salad is the thick layer of mayonnaise covering up the flavors of the onion, celery and mustard. I cut the mayo down to 1/4 cup. I also substituted unsweetened Almond milk for the evaporated milk. It worked perfectly and created a smooth and creamy sauce!

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium potatoes
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 6 hard-cooked eggs, diced
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1 (5 ounce) can evaporated milk
  • 1 teaspoon prepared yellow mustard
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 cup mayonnaise

Directions

  1. Place the potatoes into a large pot, and fill with enough water to cover. Bring to a boil, and cook for about 20 minutes, or until easily pierced with a fork. Drain. Cool, peel and dice. Transfer to a large bowl, and toss with the onion, celery, 1 teaspoon of salt, and hard-cooked eggs.
  2. While the potatoes are cooking, whisk together 2 eggs, sugar, cornstarch, and salt in a saucepan. Stir in the vinegar, milk, and mustard. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently, until thickened, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in the butter. Refrigerate until cool, then stir in the mayonnaise.
  3. Stir the dressing into the bowl of potato salad gently until evenly coated. Chill several hours or overnight before serving for best flavor.

**TIP** If you are on a time crunch you can soak the potatoes and hard boiled eggs in cool water. Repeat until cooled throughly. Spread the mustard/milk sauce into a shallow pan, let cool in the freezer stirring often. This will help cool down the potato salad so it is the perfect temperature in the least amount of time!

2 thoughts on “potaytoe potahtoe salad

  1. Potato salad and I are not friends either. This recipe sounds good though. Do you use red potatoes? I heard they were best for potato salad.

Leave a Reply

