Apple Cinnamon Cobbler

After receiving a large donation of crafty food and eating through most, it was apparent that a few apples would not survive to see tomorrow. Being the non-waster that I am, I can’t bring myself to throw away fruit, especially a basket of large delicious red apples!

I have been trying to eat well again, partially in part for my trip to Vegas in two weeks!!! I have also started practicing yoga at least 3 times a week and making it to the gym at least 4/7 days of the week. It feels so great to  release all of the toxins that build up inside, especially the mass of toxins I somehow contract while sitting behind a desk at work all day.

So, in trying to eat well and believing that I deserve a treat for all my efforts I wanted to create something sweet that I wouldn’t beat myself up over enjoying! I had at first wanted to make a raw dessert (no baking required) to keep in all the nutrients, but these apples needed a good baking to release some juices and disguise the fact that they were browning.  This apple cinnamon cobbler is quick and simple, it can be healthy or more sweet, there are definitely a lot of options available!

 

 

Ingredients
-1 cup of oats
– 1/3 cup melted butter or margine
– 2 packets of stevia (or you can you 1/2 cup of brown sugar)
– 4 large red apples
– 4 tbsp cinnamon
– 1 tbsp nutmeg
– 1/3 cup of raisins
1/2 cup raspberry preserves (sugar-free or not) You can also create your own sauce by simmering 1 cup of raspberries, 2 tbsp of orange juice, 1 cup of water and 2 packets of stevia on the stove.

Directions:
1. Core the apples and slice into half-moon slivers, toss into a  bowl with cinnamon, nutmeg and raisins
2. In a separate bowl mix together oats, melted butter and stevia
3. Place the apples into a 8×8 greased pan, sprinkle the oats on top
4. Preheat the oven to 375 and bake for 30 minutes, or until apples are soft
5. Remove the apples from the oven and drizzle raspberry preserves on top. Serve with a dollop of plain yogurt and you have a delicious and health conscious dessert! It’s great for breakfast or as a snack! Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Cobbler

Leave a Reply

