vegan zucchini brownies

So, I’m at my parents house on vacation. I have already driven through town 3-4 times, had lunch with a few friends and visited my old office, as well as walked around the block and visited the dentist. I would say that I pretty much have the town covered. So now I can finally get around to doing something else! Its 82 and partly sunny, so what better to do then heat up the house and bake something!

My mom made a pan of not so appetizing brownies (sorry mom), they’ve been sitting on the counter since Saturday…untouched, except for one tiny square that was removed for taste testing. All I keep thinking about is my friends vegan zucchini brownies that she has been making every Thursday for our pasta nights! They are the most moist and delicious brownies I’ve ever had and on top of that, I can convince myself that they are semi-healthy to devour. Since moving to California, I have been submersed in whole foods/vegan/vegetarian culture, and its been great! I eat meat still, but there is a whole wonderful world of meat free protein options to explore! Since my family is a steak and potatoes kind of family, I have slowly been trying to introduce new ways of looking at vegetables to our table.

 

I searched around for the perfect vegan brownie recipe, many call for vegan butter and substitute egg. Those are so not available here, so I made do with what was and altered a few different recipes together…I have 20 minutes left to see if this recipe is a keeper:

1 1/2 cups flour
1/3 cup of baking chocolate powder
1/2 cup chocolate chips (i love chocolate)
1/3 cup of vegetable oil
3 tbsp water
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
2 cups shredded zucchini (Approx. 1 large zucchini)
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt

1. Mix together all the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking chocolate, baking soda, baking powder, salt)
2. Fold in the wet ingredients (water, vegetable oil) fold in the zucchini and chocolate chips last. If the mixture is too dry, continue to add in water by the tsp. (This will have the same consistency as regular brownie mix)
3. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. Sprinkle chocolate chips on top! Bake for 25-30 minutes. The brownies should be cooked throughly but still spongy when you press on them

One thought on “vegan zucchini brownies

Leave a Reply

