greek yogurt pops

 

It’s out hot, I want popsicles, I don’t want to go sit in my car and drive to the store. So what do I do? I make my own popsicle, with ingredients I already have, without the added sugar, and without the preservatives. While I’m folding laundry they are in the process of freezing and should be ready to eat soon!

So why the yogurt pops? On a recent trip to the store, I purchased some greek yogurt pops and was really disappointed. I wanted them to be good, 6 grams of protein only 70 calories, but the taste just wasn’t there for me. It was waxy and the fruit was liquid in texture and beet juice was added for color, which I will never understand since I know fruit, especially raspberries stain everything!

This weekend, we went to Ikea…my favorite home goods store, and I found some really cute popsicle holders for only $1.99! Those have become the base for my yogurt pops testing. I also realized I should have purchased more than one, since my brain is coming up with more flavors than I have slots for!

The ingredients are simple:

Greek Yogurt (Of your choice. I use plain)
Fresh Fruit (I used mango, blackberries, raspberries and strawberries)
Almond Milk (or any other milk, incase the yogurt is too thick)
Honey or Stevia (for sweetener)

All of the ingredients were put into my food processor and pulsed for 5-10 seconds until a semi smooth puree was formed. Then they were pouring into the molds and now they sit in the freezer for the next 30-60 minutes. The flavors I made were: Mango + Honey, Blackberry + Lemon + Honey, and Strawberry + Raspberry + Truvia (natural sweetener)

Simple. Healthy. Delicious.

2 thoughts on “greek yogurt pops

Leave a Reply

